The Train Affair Episode # 2 ;)

For the first episode visit :https://funfeelingslife.wordpress.com/2012/03/24/the-train-affair-episode-i/

“Coincidences Happen especially when you want them to “

After I got off from the train, it was a bus journey followed by a one in a share auto. These seven seaters should be put in the Guinness book of world records, for they are actually accommodate 14 to 15 seaters, cramped one another but they are cheaper when compared to the other auto rickshaws. It was a big day for me, for the great start i had to it and also because I had to cover a seminar in Microsoft. Wow!! what a company, that is all what we think. Companies such as Google, Facebook, Microsoft always have been a dream companies for a lot of youngsters and these companies do not let the people with normal minds, like me to join their firms. You not only need the x factor but also the y and z. You should be from the most reputed institutes in the countries and with the most blessed intelligence. But all i was thinking of was of Karan, my mystery man.

I somehow felt the day was going to be special given the great start, and somehow when you feel good you automatically look good. I looked my best; it’s great to compliment one at times. Rishi, my cameraman though he hates to be called that, since he has a story similar like mine. He claims to have held that DSLR when he was barely 12 and wanted to be a fashion photographer but had ended up here. Our firm thought if two creative minds like his and mine come together we could make wonders. Did we? We were great friends but at work we were true professionals. He picked me on time and I must say, he did give me a good look. And after a drive of 35 KMs I was at the Gachibowli campus of Microsoft, I had always seen it from outside but never got the chance to be on the other side. All I used to see was a group of guys dressed mostly in shorts playing basketball or football. I always thought this was life.

They come from A tier colleges of the country, have had the most awesome hostel life at least most of them, go abroad for their internships and then get white collar jobs in big brands and here not only are they given best of the packages but also the learning, nurture and of course the perks are to die for. But yes they do slog a large part of their school years to make it to big colleges. With all these thoughts in my mind I stepped into the building and signed in the register at the reception just when a guy just walked past me and swiped his card at the door. I felt so much like a guest user with no privileges at all.
The conference started and a lot of powerful people of the organization spoke. They told about the latest acquisitions they had made, and what wonders their products were making throughout their world. Every employee carried a sense of pride and they deserved every bit of it. Imagine one day of your life without MS Office, ITS HELL.
Finally they were winding it up with an Award ceremony where the best performers would be duly appreciated. I was just thinking that what kind of people were they who were best among the best. They were the crème de la crème. I was enthusiastic to this part since I wanted the readers to get inspired from these geniuses and do the best with their life. And at this point it was me who was cribbing most of her work and needed this inspiration the most. Then the name ‘Shikhar Ramchandran’ was called out, and no one came, someone told he was on his way. When all the awards were given away, the name Shikhar Ramchandran was called again. And the guy who came to collect was lad in blue jeans and Green T shirt and he looked like a college goer amongst all the young and old men dressed up in blazers and all formal attire. Yes you are right, it was my Mr. Shoe bite … the only name I could think of for him, but then he wrote his name as Karan, and here it was Shikar. It was messed up. Anyways he was going to be on the cover page of many newspapers for being dressed like that. But to my surprise the none of the journalists there except me seemed to care for him, which was all that I wanted.
I convinced Rishi that we would interview Shikhar back stage and show the people the true Microsoft. This was my only chance and rushed for it. “Hello Shikar, Congratulations” Shikar a.k.a Karan was taken aback, since he now knew he was now being laughed at. But then after a closer look he had recognized me and said “Hey, you..” and I introduced myself properly this time and asked him for an interview. He :Mr. Self-obsessed” happily agreed.
Shikar: So you are a journalist?
Me: I would love call myself that, but no I’m a content writer and btw are you not Karan?
Shikar: hehehehe, yes only for the people special to me.
Me: (Blushing)ahh I see. So did you directly come from station? You are still in the same clothes and you stink.
Shikar: No ways, I almost poured a bottled of deodorant on me, and ya came here directly. Some code had broken and had to be fixed immediately.
Me: Oh so you are a developer? (I know a bit of their jargons) Are you a campus Hire?
Shikar: (Here starts Mr. Shikar’s Biography) Well, I did my bachelors from IIT Delhi and went to do my MS in US. Then came back to India and started working here. Love logic a lot.
Me: Why did you not work there? Generally all of them do to pay back their loans and all.
Shikar: Love for the country ;)( He really winked) Well I was very homesick wanted to come back home to my people.
Me: Oh so were you only missing family or even missing your girlfriend? 😉
Shikhar: You get to the point don you? Well yes I did miss her when I came back here, because I left her behind there.
Me: Oh so you are quite a workaholic.. in the train you were working as well. You did not even change clothes(This was not what I wanted to say)( I wanted to ask him are you single?)
Shikar: Ya I am,Its some how  my passion.So will all of this be published?
Me: No, we will publish only about Microsoft and give an excerpt from this interview probably.
Shikar: That’s nice.
Me: Ok Shikar, nice talking to you. Thanks for your time.

I was walking away thinking that such an eligible bachelor like him cant really consider a part time journalist like me, but a voice called out, “Hey you look stunning today and when you sleep, Free this Saturday? “ That was it, I did not need any other signals from his side. I quietly said, “Yes I am “.  We exchanged our numbers and parted ways…Lovely 🙂

One thought on “The Train Affair Episode # 2 ;)

Leave a Reply

